Fragrance Help atomizer logo
FRAGRANCE HELP
HISTORY · EDUCATION · CONSULTATION

The Fragrance License Map

LIBRARY · HOUSES
The Fragrance License Map

Who actually makes a designer fragrance, since when, and for how long: 69 brands and their licensees, as of September 2026.

BRANDS MAPPED
69
DATA AS OF
September 2026
MAIN LICENSEES
Coty, L’Oréal, Interparfums, Puig, Shiseido, EuroItalia
BIGGEST MOVE
Gucci to L’Oréal, 1 July 2027
01 — AT A GLANCE

At a glance

Most designer perfume is not made by the fashion house whose name is on the bottle. The house owns the name; a beauty company holds a license to it, and that company develops the fragrances, has them manufactured, distributes them and pays the house a royalty on sales [90]. The table below maps 69 brands to the company that makes their fragrance as of September 2026, with the start date, the term where it has been published, and the previous licensee.

A handful of groups hold most of the big licenses: L’Oréal (Armani, Yves Saint Laurent, Ralph Lauren, Prada, Valentino), Coty (Gucci until mid-2027, Burberry, Hugo Boss, Calvin Klein), Interparfums (Coach, Jimmy Choo, Montblanc, Lacoste), Puig, Shiseido and EuroItalia. The houses that make their own fragrance are a smaller group: Chanel, Hermès, the LVMH houses such as Dior and Guerlain, and the brands owned outright by beauty groups, such as Jo Malone London at Estée Lauder.

The largest change on the map is L’Oréal’s purchase of Kering Beauté, completed on 31 March 2026. It gave L’Oréal Creed outright and 50-year licenses for Balenciaga and Bottega Veneta, and it will add Gucci on 1 July 2027, when Coty hands the license back a year early [90].

02 — HOW FRAGRANCE LICENSING WORKS

How fragrance licensing works

A fragrance license gives a beauty company the right to use a brand name on perfume and related products. In Interparfums’ words, the licensee obtains “the right to use the brand name, create new fragrances and packaging, determine positioning and distribution, and market and sell the licensed products, in exchange for the payment of royalties” [90].

Royalties and obligations. Coty and Interparfums describe the same core terms in their latest annual reports: annual royalties paid on net sales of the licensed products, minimum sales levels, and required spending on advertising and promotion. Coty adds obligations to maintain the quality of the products and the image of the trademark, and notes that a licensee that breaches the terms can lose the license [90]. Neither filing discloses royalty rates.

Length. Licenses are long. Coty reported in 2026 that its license agreements average about 24 years, that most carry renewal options of up to ten years, and that some renew automatically as long as minimum royalties are paid [90]. Recent deals bear that out: Guess extended Interparfums to 2048, Lacoste signed Interparfums for 15 years, and L’Oréal took 50-year licenses for Balenciaga, Bottega Veneta and Gucci. Many others are described only as “long-term,” and the table says “not disclosed” where no end date has been published.

Why houses license. A fashion house gets a perfume business without having to build one, and it is paid a royalty for the use of its name. The cost is control: under the license it is the licensee that creates the fragrances and packaging and decides positioning and distribution, as Interparfums describes the arrangement [90].

Why houses take fragrance back. Some houses bring fragrance in-house to regain that control, with mixed results. Burberry bought back its Interparfums license in 2012 and ran Burberry Beauty itself, then licensed it to Coty in 2017 [91]. Dolce & Gabbana ended its Shiseido license and set up its own beauty company in 2022 [120]. Kering built Kering Beauté in 2023 to bring its brands in-house, then sold it to L’Oréal in 2026 and licensed the brands back out [90].

03 — THE MAP

The map

Data as of September 2026. “In-house” means the brand’s owner makes the fragrance itself, including brands owned outright by a beauty group. Where a licensee also owns the brand’s fragrance trademarks, the table says so. Dates and terms come from company filings and press releases and from trade press [90] [91] [116] [119]; where a term has not been published, the table says “not disclosed.” Where only one source reports a detail, the table names it.

BRANDFRAGRANCE LICENSEE (2026)SINCETERM / EXPIRYPREVIOUS LICENSEE(S)
Abercrombie & FitchInterparfums2014To 14 March 2028 (Interparfums 10-K)—
AmouageIn-house (SABCO Group); L’Oréal minority stake1983; stake disclosed 2025Owned—
Armani (Giorgio Armani)L’Oréal1988Renewed March 2018, to 2050—
AzzaroL’Oréal (owns the fragrance business)2020OwnedClarins Group
BalenciagaL’Oréal31 March 202650-year licenseKering Beauté (in-house, 2023–26); Coty (from 2008, per Wikipedia)
Bottega VenetaL’Oréal31 March 202650-year licenseKering Beauté (in-house, 2023–26); Coty (from 2009)
BurberryCoty2017“Long-term”; not disclosedInterparfums (to 2012); in-house as Burberry Beauty (2013–17)
BvlgariIn-house (LVMH)2011Owned—
ByredoIn-house (Puig)2022Owned—
Calvin KleinCoty2005Not disclosedUnilever (Calvin Klein Cosmetics)
Carolina HerreraIn-house (Puig)1995 (Puig license from 1988)OwnedPuig, under license (1988–95)
CaronIn-house (Cattleya Finance, Rothschild family)2018OwnedOwned by Alès Groupe (1998–2018)
CartierIn-house (Richemont)—Owned—
ChanelIn-house (Wertheimer family, private)—Owned—
ChloéCoty2005Not disclosedUnilever
CoachInterparfums2015To 30 June 2031 (renewed March 2025)Estée Lauder
CotyIn-house (Coty Inc.)1904Owned—
CreedIn-house (L’Oréal)31 March 2026OwnedOwned by Kering Beauté (2023–26)
DieselL’Oréal2007 (Wikipedia)Not disclosed—
DiorIn-house (LVMH)—Owned—
DiptyqueIn-house (Manzanita Capital)2005Owned—
DKNY / Donna KaranInterparfums1 July 2022To 31 December 2032, plus a 5-year option (Interparfums 10-K)Estée Lauder
Dolce & GabbanaIn-house (Dolce&Gabbana Beauty)2022–23OwnedShiseido (2016–22); Procter & Gamble (2006–16); Euroitalia (to 2006)
Elie SaabBrands Beyond Beauty1 January 2021“Long-term”; not disclosedBeauté Prestige International (Shiseido), from 2010
Estée LauderIn-house (The Estée Lauder Companies)1946Owned—
FerragamoInterparfumsOctober 2021To 31 December 2031, plus a 5-year option—
Frédéric MalleIn-house (The Estée Lauder Companies)2015Owned—
GivenchyIn-house (LVMH)1987–88Owned—
GucciCoty, until 30 June 2027; then L’Oréal2016 (license dated 2006, via P&G)Coty license ends 30 June 2027, a year early (was 30 June 2028); L’Oréal’s 50-year license starts 1 July 2027Procter & Gamble
GuerlainIn-house (LVMH)1994Owned—
GuessInterparfums2018To 31 December 2048 (extended 2025–26)—
HermèsIn-house (Hermès)—Owned—
HoubigantIn-house (Perris family)2005OwnedRenaissance Cosmetics (license, 1994–99)
Hugo BossCoty2016Renewed December 2022, to 2035 (Hugo Boss: “beyond 2035”)Procter & Gamble (1991–2016)
Issey MiyakeShiseido (Beauté Prestige International)1992 (first fragrance)Not disclosed—
Jean PatouDesigner Parfums / Nirvana Investments (Dilesh Mehta)2011 (fragrance rights); full ownership July 2026OwnedLVMH majority owner (2018–26); Procter & Gamble (2001–11)
Jean Paul GaultierIn-house (Puig)1 January 2016OwnedBeauté Prestige International (Shiseido), 1991–2015
Jil SanderCoty1980s (via Lancaster, per Coty)Renewed January 2023 for 10 years—
Jimmy ChooInterparfums2009To 31 December 2031—
Jo Malone LondonIn-house (The Estée Lauder Companies)1999Owned—
Kate SpadeInterparfums2019To 30 June 2030 (11-year license)—
LacosteInterparfumsJanuary 202415 years, to 31 December 2038Coty (to 2023), via Procter & Gamble
LanvinInterparfums (owns the fragrance trademarks)2007Owned; the couture house may buy the marks back on 1 July 2027 for €70 million (Interparfums 10-K)—
L’Artisan ParfumeurIn-house (Puig)2015Owned—
Le LaboIn-house (The Estée Lauder Companies)2014Owned—
LongchampInterparfumsJuly 2025 (first launch expected 2027)To 31 December 2036—
Maison MargielaL’Oréal2008 (license); first fragrance 2010Not disclosed—
Marc JacobsCoty2003Extended August 2023 for “over 15 years” (Coty)—
Michael KorsEuroItalia202115-year license from 2021Estée Lauder
Miu MiuL’OréalSigned February 2024 (first launches 2025)“Long-term”; not disclosedCoty (from 2013)
MontblancInterparfums2010To 31 December 2030 (Interparfums 10-K)—
MoschinoEuroitalia (owns the beauty trademarks)Licensee from 1987–88; owner since 2024Owned—
MuglerL’Oréal (owns the brand)2020OwnedClarins Group
Narciso RodriguezShiseido (Beauté Prestige International)2003Renewed 2011, “long-term”; not disclosed—
Off-WhiteInterparfums (owns the fragrance trademarks)Acquired December 2024; selling from 1 January 2026OwnedA license that expired 31 December 2025
Oscar de la RentaInterparfumsOctober 2013To 31 December 2031, plus a 5-year option—
PradaL’Oréal1 January 2021“Long-term”; not disclosedPuig (2004–20)
RabanneIn-house (Puig)Puig has made the perfumes since 1968–69Owned—
Ralph LaurenL’Oréal1985 (per L’Oréal)Not disclosedWarner Cosmetics
Roberto CavalliInterparfumsJuly 20236.5 years, to 31 December 2029Coty
RochasInterparfums (owns the brand)2015OwnedProcter & Gamble (2003–15)
Serge LutensIn-house (Shiseido)2000 (brand); trademark bought 2015–16Owned—
Tiffany & Co.Coty2016 (agreement signed January 2016)Not disclosed—
Tom FordIn-house (The Estée Lauder Companies)2023 (owner)OwnedEstée Lauder, under license (from 2005–06)
Tommy HilfigerGive Back Beauty2022 (new lines from 2023)Not disclosed—
ValentinoL’Oréal1 January 2019“Long-term”; not disclosedPuig (2010–18)
VersaceEuroItalia2005Extended 2021 for 15 years—
Viktor & RolfL’Oréal2005 (Flowerbomb)Not disclosed—
Yves Saint LaurentL’Oréal (owns YSL Beauté)2008Long-term license; not disclosedGucci Group / PPR, now Kering (1999–2008)

Brand names link to their house entries where the Library has one. Scroll the table sideways on a phone.

04 — RECENT MOVES, 2020–2026

Recent moves, 2020–2026

Every entry is dated. Where an announcement and a completion fall on different dates, the date shown is the one that changed who makes the fragrance, and where a detail rests on a single source, the entry names it.

1 January 2021 · Prada — L’Oréal’s long-term Prada license takes effect; Puig had made Prada fragrances since 2004 [90] [107].
1 January 2021 · Elie Saab — Brands Beyond Beauty takes a long-term license, replacing Shiseido’s Beauté Prestige International.
30 September 2021 · Versace and Michael Kors — Capri Holdings extends Versace’s EuroItalia license for another 15 years and moves Michael Kors from Estée Lauder to EuroItalia under a 15-year license [119].
October 2021 · Ferragamo — Interparfums takes a 10-year Ferragamo license, with a five-year option; the October 2021 date is from Interparfums’ 10-K [90].
31 December 2021 · Dolce & Gabbana — Shiseido’s license ends for all markets except those run from France; Dolce&Gabbana Beauty takes the business in-house [90] [119].
January 2022 · Tommy Hilfiger — Give Back Beauty takes the global beauty and fragrance license, with new lines from 2023 [91].
1 July 2022 · Donna Karan and DKNY — Interparfums replaces Estée Lauder, which had made the fragrances for close to three decades [90] [119].
December 2022 · Hugo Boss — Coty and Hugo Boss renew their license, covering all BOSS and HUGO fragrances, to 2035; Hugo Boss describes it as running “beyond 2035” [90] [116].
January 2023 · Jil Sander — Coty renews the license for ten more years [116] [91].
February 2023 · Kering — Kering sets up Kering Beauté to run its brands’ beauty in-house; Coty had held the Balenciaga and Bottega Veneta licenses [119].
28 April 2023 · Tom Ford — The Estée Lauder Companies completes its purchase of the Tom Ford brand, so Tom Ford Beauty becomes an owned brand rather than a license [90].
July 2023 · Roberto Cavalli — Interparfums’ 6.5-year license takes effect; Coty’s license had expired [90].
August 2023 · Marc Jacobs — Coty extends its Marc Jacobs license, which it has held since 2003, and adds makeup [90].
1 January 2024 · Lacoste — Interparfums’ 15-year license begins, ending Coty’s [90] [120].
9 February 2024 · Miu Miu — L’Oréal signs a long-term Miu Miu license, joining Prada at L’Oréal; Coty had held it since 2013 [90] [91].
26 September 2024 · Moschino — Aeffe sells the Moschino beauty trademarks to EuroItalia, its licensee since 1987–88, for €98 million [119].
December 2024 · Off-White — Interparfums buys the Off-White fragrance and cosmetics trademarks and starts selling on 1 January 2026 [90] [91].
March 2025 · Coach — Interparfums’ Coach license is extended to 30 June 2031 [90].
July 2025 · Longchamp — Interparfums signs a license to 31 December 2036; the first launch is planned for 2027 [90] [116].
October 2025 · Kering Beauté — Kering agrees to sell Kering Beauté, including Creed, to L’Oréal for €4 billion, with 50-year licenses for Balenciaga, Bottega Veneta and, once Coty’s license ends, Gucci [119].
2 December 2025 · Versace — Prada Group completes its purchase of Versace from Capri Holdings [90].
December 2025 · Guess — Interparfums’ Guess license is extended by 15 years, to 31 December 2048; Interparfums’ 10-K dates the renewal December 2025, and it was announced on 26 January 2026 [90] [107].
31 March 2026 · Creed, Balenciaga, Bottega Veneta — L’Oréal completes the Kering Beauté purchase: Creed becomes a L’Oréal brand, and the Balenciaga and Bottega Veneta licenses move to L’Oréal [90] [119].
April 2026 · Burberry and Hugo Boss — Coty and Interparfums deny a Reuters report that they were in talks over the Burberry and Boss licenses [119].
May 2026 · Marc Jacobs — LVMH agrees to sell the Marc Jacobs brand to WHP Global and G-III; the fragrance and beauty license stays with Coty [116] [91].
7 July 2026 · Gucci — Coty agrees to end its Gucci license on 30 June 2027, a year before its scheduled expiry, for about $400 million; L’Oréal’s 50-year license starts on 1 July 2027 [90] [91].
31 July 2026 · Jean Patou — LVMH sells its majority stake in Patou back to Dilesh Mehta, whose Designer Parfums has held the Jean Patou fragrance rights since 2011 [119].
05 — HOW TO READ A LABEL

How to read a label

The fastest way to find out who made a bottle is to read the box. Cosmetics law in both the United States and the European Union requires the package to name a responsible company, and for a licensed fragrance that company is often the licensee or one of its subsidiaries, not the fashion house.

United States. FDA rules require the label to name the manufacturer, packer or distributor and its place of business. If the company named did not make the product, its name has to be qualified by a phrase such as “Manufactured for” or “Distributed by” (21 CFR 701.12). A line reading “Distributed by” followed by a beauty group’s name and address tells you which company holds the license.

European Union and United Kingdom. Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 requires the container and packaging to carry the name and address of the “responsible person”, the company legally accountable for the product in that market, and a batch number or other reference that identifies the product (Article 19). For a licensed fragrance the responsible person is often the licensee or one of its subsidiaries.

Why it matters for reformulation. The licensee creates the fragrances and runs their production. If the company named on the box differs between two bottles of the same fragrance, the license has usually changed hands, and the newer bottle may have been reworked. Note the company name and the batch code before you compare two bottles, and check the table above for the date of the change.

06 — SOURCES

Sources

[90] Coty Inc., annual report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 30 June 2026, and Form 8-K on the Gucci license termination agreement, 7 July 2026.
[90] Interparfums, Inc., annual report on Form 10-K for 2025 (license expiry table and brand history), and press releases on Coach (March 2025), Guess (January 2026), Oscar de la Renta (2019) and Donna Karan and DKNY (2021).
[90] L’Oréal, press releases: Armani renewal (22 March 2018); Valentino (28 May 2018); Prada (12 December 2019); Mugler and Azzaro (31 March 2020); Miu Miu (9 February 2024); completion of the Kering Beauté acquisition (31 March 2026); L’Oréal Luxe brand pages.
[90] Puig, FY 2025 results press release; HUGO BOSS Group, “HUGO BOSS and Coty renew license agreement,” 20 December 2022; Shiseido, news releases on Dolce&Gabbana (28 April 2021) and Serge Lutens (December 2015); Prada Group, “Prada Group completes the acquisition of Versace,” 2 December 2025; Coty, Marc Jacobs license expansion, 21 August 2023; The Estée Lauder Companies and LVMH brand lists.
[91] Cosmetics Business: “Coty acquires license for Burberry Beauty for £130m,” 3 April 2017; “Tiffany & Co signs fragrance deal with Coty,” 27 January 2016; “Coty and Jil Sander extend licence agreement,” 13 January 2023; “Miu Miu follows sister brand Prada to L’Oréal with licence deal,” 12 February 2024; “Give Back Beauty inks Tommy Hilfiger licence deal,” 19 January 2022; “Interparfums to launch Off-White fragrances and cosmetics,” 2024; “L’Oréal to snap up Gucci Beauty licence from Coty earlier than expected,” 8 July 2026; “LVMH to sell Marc Jacobs after 30 years,” 15 May 2026.
[116] Premium Beauty News: “Hugo Boss and Coty renew their license agreement,” 2022; “Coty renews Jil Sander license,” 12 January 2023; “Coty will create perfumes for Tiffany,” 28 January 2016; “Longchamp inks licensing agreement with Interparfums,” 2025; “Inter Parfums and Oscar de la Renta extend fragrance licence deal,” 2019; “LVMH sells Marc Jacobs to WHP Global,” 15 May 2026.
[107] Moodie Davitt Report: “Coty acquires Burberry Beauty Luxury licence for US$162 million,” 3 April 2017; “Prada and L’Oréal sign long-term licensing agreement,” 12 December 2019; “Interparfums signs 20-year global licence deals with David Beckham and Nautica; extends Guess licence,” 2026.
[119] WWD: “Dolce & Gabbana and Shiseido Partially End Their Beauty License,” 30 April 2021; “Aeffe Transfers Ownership of Moschino Brand for Fragrances, Cosmetics to Euroitalia,” 2024; “Parfums Caron Changes Hands,” 18 October 2018; “LVMH Has Sold the Patou Brand Back to Dilesh Mehta,” 31 July 2026; Tommy Hilfiger Freedom launch coverage, 2026.
[119] FashionNetwork: Capri Holdings and EuroItalia (1 October 2021); Interparfums and Donna Karan/DKNY (2021); Armani and L’Oréal (2018); Elie Saab and Brands Beyond Beauty (1 February 2021); Kate Spade and Interparfums (2019); L’Oréal and Kering Beauté (1 April 2026); LVMH and Patou (3 August 2026). FashionUnited, on Off-White (2024) and Patou (2026). BeautyMatter, on Kering Beauté (2023), Caron (2018) and Amouage (2025). Retail Dive, on the L’Oréal–Kering agreement, 20 October 2025. The Impression, on Gucci, 8 July 2026. Global Cosmetics News and Reuters, on the denied Burberry and Boss talks, April 2026. Luxus Plus, on Moschino, 27 September 2024.
[120] Wikipedia, company and brand articles, retrieved September 2026, including “Coty,” “Prada,” “Miu Miu,” “Valentino (fashion house),” “Chloé,” “Calvin Klein (company),” “Balenciaga,” “Bottega Veneta,” “Jean Paul Gaultier,” “Lacoste,” “Diesel (brand),” “Shiseido,” “Patou” and “Parfums Caron.”
[109] Now Smell This, “Issey Miyake” house directory.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, “Cosmetics Labeling Guide,” and 21 CFR 701.12, “Name and place of business of manufacturer, packer, or distributor.”
Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Article 19 (labeling).
PR Newswire, “Narciso Rodriguez Renews Fragrance License with Beaute Prestige International,” 23 May 2011. EuroItalia, company history. Houbigant Paris, “The House of Houbigant.” In re Houbigant, Inc., 914 F. Supp. 964 (S.D.N.Y. 1995), on the 1994 Renaissance Cosmetics license; Wikipedia, “Houbigant Parfum.” Moodie Davitt Report, “L’Oréal writes new olfactory chapter with Martin Margiela’s Untitled,” 31 March 2011; WWD, “Maison Martin Margiela’s Debut Scent: Untitled,” 15 January 2010. The Perfume Society, “Viktor & Rolf.” Luxury Daily, “Hugo Boss, Coty renew fragrance licensing deal through 2035,” 20 December 2022.

RELATED ENTRIES

SOURCES

Company filings and press releases (Coty, Interparfums, L’Oréal, Puig); Cosmetics Business; Premium Beauty News; WWD; FashionNetwork; Wikipedia.